Brief about Russia

Russian Federation, Russia ( Russia ) – a country located on the continent of Eurasia (Eastern Europe and Northern Asia) . The names Russian Federation and Russia are equal . * – The Russian Constitution , Article 1

The official state symbols of the Russian Federation is the National Flag and National Emblem of the Russian Federation .

Head of State is the President of the Russian Federation . The form of Russia is a federal presidential- parliamentary republic . Russian Federation – is the largest state in area, occupying 17,125,187 km2 (the first in the world), which is approximately 1/8 of the land. The total population of Russia is 146 270 033 people (2015) and occupies the 9th place in the world onthis indicator.

The official (state) language – Russian. The capital – the city of Moscow. In Russia there are 15 cities with a population of over one million people (2014). Russia is a member of major international organisations: UN, OSCE, Council of Europe, EAEC, CIS, BSEC,the Collective Security Treaty Organization, the WTO, the SCO, APEC, BRICS, IOC and others.

More in numbers:

State flag of the Russian Federation

Russian flag

№ 1-FKZ of 25 December 2000 on the State Flag of the Russian Federation.

The State Emblem of the Russian Federation
Russian State Emblem
№ 2-FKZ of 25 December 2000 on the State Emblem of the Russian Federation.
National Anthem of the Russian Federation
Russian National Anthem: music by Alexander Alexandrov, words of Sergei Mikhalkov.

Read the text

Form of government
Federal presidential-parliamentary republic. The main document is the state of the RF Constitution, adopted December 12, 1993.
Head of State
President – the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces, Head of the Security Council
Power structure

The Federal Assembly – Parliament of the Russian Federation – is a representative and legislative body of the Russian Federation. The Federal Assembly consists of two chambers – the Federation Council and State Duma.

The Russian government – the executive body of the Russian Federation. The government includes federal ministries, federal services and federal agencies.

Justice in the Russian Federation only by the court. Judicial power is exercised by means of constitutional, civil, administrative and criminal proceedings. The judiciary comprises the Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation, the Supreme Arbitration Court of the Russian Federation.

17,075,400 km2, 1st place in the world
142,914,136 people (2010), 9th place in the world
Official language
Рубль Ruble
Hero City Moscow
The number of cities with populations over 1 million People
12 cities:

St. Petersburg
• Nizhny Novgorod
• Samara
• Omsk
• Chelyabinsk
• Rostov-on-Don
• Ufa
  11,551,930 people.
– 4,869,600 people.
– 1,473,730 people.
– 1,350,136 people.
– 1,250,600 people.
– 1,164,900 people.
– 1.154 million people.
– 1,143,600 people.
– 1,130,300 people.
– 1,089,900 people.
– 1,062,300 people.
– 1,021,200 people.
Membership in international organizations
Совет Безопасности ООН  UN Security Council Содружество Независимых Государств  CIS – Commonwealth of Independent States

Совет Европы  The Council of Europe

G8 – Big Eight (UK • Germany • Italy • Canada • Russia • United States • France • Japan)

Евразийское экономическое сообщество  EurAsEC – Eurasian Economic Community

CAC – Central Asian Cooperation

BRIC – Countries with growing economies (Brazil • Russia • China • India)

Организация Договора о коллективной безопасности  CSTO – Organization of the Collective Security Treaty

Шанхайская организация сотрудничества  SCO – Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

Time Zones
  9 time zones:
– MSK – 1 Kaliningrad Time
– MSK    Moscow Time
– MSK + 2 Yekaterinburg Time
– MSK + 3 Omsk Time
– MSK + 4 Krasnoyarsk Time
– MSK + 5 Irkutsk Time
– MSK + 6 Yakutsk Time
– MSK + 7 Vladivostok Time
– MSK + 8 Magadan time

Russia time zones

Your opinion about...